beauty · Product Reviews

Mascara Review Cheap V Expensive

product-review
By Hayley ~ Product Reviewer

Hi Stylists! As a bit of a novice when it comes to makeup, finding the best beauty products from the hundreds available can sometimes get a bit confusing. For this post, I have selected 3 mascaras on the market to review for you; ranging from the cheap and cheerful to high-end brands

Let’s see how they compare…

mascara-review
The 3 mascara’s I will be trying & testing for you

I’ll be the first to admit that I look a bit plain  without any mascara, all thanks to my blonde eyelashes and how very straight they are – so finding a good mascara is important to me. In these tests I will be using an eyelash curler and a clear mascara base coat to insure I get the very best results! In my opinion the best clear mascara out there is: Colourlash Mascara in Clear from the Collection range.


Now, let’s get started..

CHEAP: Natural Collection Lash Length Mascara
You can see the difference between no mascara and applying this one, but I don’t think there’s much in it. I like the wand this mascara has though, it’s not too big and gets gradually bigger towards the handle, helping you catch all your lashes. I felt I had to wipe a lot of excess off the brush to avoid getting clumpy lashes and I really had to work the mascara, just to get this look. I’d use it again, but only for a quick day look or apply more coats.

nc

  • Brand Name: Natural Collection
  • Waterproof: No
  • Colour: Black
  • Price: £1.99

Get it here

Score: 5/10

AFFORDABLE: Barry M Lash Vegas – with fibres Mascara

My lashes definitely look longer with this mascara and I think the addition of the fibres is one of the main reasons why. I love the feel of this mascara, it goes on easily & quickly…. however, probably because of my thin lashes, I was getting a lot of excess product on my eyelid and found it quite hard to keep the mascara only to my lashes. The brush is firm but very thin and slid straight through my lashes. Trying to build upon this, I feel, made them look quite clumpy. I can definitely feel a difference in quality compared to the Natural Collection one though!

bm

  • Brand Name: Barry M
  • Waterproof: No
  • Colour: Blackest Black
  • Price: £6.49

Get it here

Score: 7/10

HIGH END: Benefit They’re Real Mascara

This is easily the best mascara wand that I have ever used. It’s firm, doesn’t budge and has evenly spaced bristles over the entire brush (including the end). This means that catching every single one of your lashes, both inside and the very outer ones, is really easy. You can really work the mascara through your lashes, with minimal product getting on your eyelid. The more coats I put on though, I could feel it becoming clumpier so I wouldn’t apply this too many times. If you’re a novice at applying mascara then this is definitely the one for you!

benefit

  • Brand Name: Benefit
  • Waterproof: No
  • Colour: Black
  • Price: £19.50

Get it here

Score: 8/10

(I’m due to purchase a new one, so I’d expect it to score a 9/10 with a new bottle)


There we have it! The comparison is complete and I’d rate Benefit’s mascara the best out of the three. I definitely felt the quality difference as I used the higher-end brands compared to the cheaper ones, so I can say the the price difference is justified.

TOP TIP: A dream combination would be Benefit’s mascara with the addition of the fibres from the Barry M mascara!


Are you tempted to try any of the mascara’s on our list? Comment below which is your current favourite mascara and why you can’t live without it!
Hayley 💜
5 thoughts on “Mascara Review Cheap V Expensive

Leave a Reply

