Product Reviewer · Product Reviews

Younique Review ~ YAY or NAY?πŸ‘πŸ‘Ž

product-review-2By Hayley ~ Product Reviewer

Hey Stylists! Thanks for all of your comments and thoughts on my last review, I loved hearing from you!

For this next review I thought I’d stick with our good ol’ trusty mascara and expand upon this further. I’ll be exploring the new craze of fiber lashes and discovering if all the hype over them is true!


photo-1-1I’m sure all of us by now have heard of Younique, the online cosmetics company (I can probably guarantee we all know one friend on Facebook who is a representative!). Well, I have very recently got my hands on some of their popular ‘Moodstruck 3D Fiber Lashes+‘ for Β£23.00Β that is said to,

“Increase your average lash volume by up to 400%”

Let’s see if all the talk is true ‘ey?

Firstly, here is my usual mascara (after a long day at work, sorry!)

photo-2Today I am wearing Barry M‘s ‘Lash Vegas‘ mascara, which I am a big fan of (as you know from my last post!). Only Β£6.49 in Boots.

Now, onto Younique‘s mascara…


photo-3-1In this product, you get 2 tubes: 1 Β tube of Transplanting Gel and 1 tube of 3D Fibers. You’re also provided with simple, clear instructions on how to apply it.

You firstly apply an even layer of the Transplanting Gel to your lashes, followed by the 3D fibers (whilst your lashes are still wet) and then add another layer of the Transplanting GelΒ to seal in the fibers..

Here’s what it’s like before you apply the fibers… which I think even now works well as a standard mascara:

photo-4You then repeat this process until you have reached your desired effect

Here are my lashes afterΒ 1 layer of fibersΒ have been appliedΒ :

photo-5I think it’s the difference in lash length is very obvious, my lashes appear so much longer and fuller! You could definitely build this up too, however for a more natural look I’d recommend just the one layer of fibers.


Positives:

  1. Does definitely make your lashes longer!
  2. Firm brushes which are easy to use and help catch all of your own lashes.
  3. Build-able to reach your desired look.
  4. Very easy to remove (I used micellar water).
  5. Mimics the look of false lashes with half the effort!

Negatives:

  1. Could get clumpy very quickly.
  2. Not cheap, over Β£20 for this product.
  3. You have to be quite quick or else the Transplanting Gel dries and you have to apply another coat once you’ve applied the fibers.
  4. I ended up with a fair amount of fibers in my eye as I wasn’t quick enough to seal them in… ouch!

Overall, I think this mascara definitely does work, you can see the difference in your lash length immediately and I think it’s a great alternative to falsies! Would be a great addition in your cosmetic bag on nights out or if you love going all out on your lashes, incorporated into your day look!


There you have it Stylists! If you’d like any more information on this product, here’s the link again to view the product on the official Younique website.


Do you think all the hype is worth it or is it simply overrated? Would you be willing to give this new concept a go?

We would love to hear your views, comment below!

Hayley πŸ’œΒ 
3 thoughts on “Younique Review ~ YAY or NAY?πŸ‘πŸ‘Ž

  1. I don’t think I’d go out of my way to buy any of these products personally I think they are way over priced.
    I can see a difference on your lashes but I agree with you they could look clumpy

    Like

    1. Hi Charmedwench. We see your point of view. Our editor (Dee) uses the mascara regularly, as a dancer she would have to use falsies but once she found yYounique 3d fibre lash she’s never looked back. Her lashes are never clumpy and always lengthen beautifully fir the perfect night out look! Definitely great value for the price she could have spent on false eyelashes πŸ˜‰

      Like

    2. Our Product Reviewer Hayley says:
      Hey Charmefwench, I completely see your view on the price, I too think they’re a bit overpriced. I’ve heard them being called affordable which I’m not sure they are for everyone? The clumpiness may well be how I apply mascara (not very well) but maybe the more layers you add, I think it’d go clumpy for anyone. Thank you for your comment! πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

