beauty · Product Reviewer · Product Reviews · Uncategorized

Luscious Lips ~ Lipstick Product Review ๐Ÿ’‹

luscious-lips-1By Hayley ~ Product Rviewer

Hi Stylists! Hayley here, with your next product review!ย In this post I’m going to review a range of lipsticks, because who doesn’t love a good lippy?! ๐Ÿ’„ I’ve chosen 6 lipsticks to include a range of high end and high street brands to see how they compare.

The lipstick brands I will be reviewing are: Rimmel London, No7, Topshop, Calvin Klein, Bobbi Brown and Younique…

lipstick-photo-1


The cheapest one of the 6 is Calvin Klein, so let’s start there!ย ๐Ÿ’‹

calvin-klein

  • Brand Name:ย Calvin Klein
  • Colour:ย Mesmerize
  • Cost: ยฃ2.50 on Fragrance Direct (where I bought it from and no longer available from, boooo!)ย / ยฃ8.99 on Amazon
  • Get it here
  • Score: 3/10

For a quick going out in the day look, I’d say this lipstick is OK. It’s also cheap and does function as a lipstick, but other than that I can’t be overly positive about this one. It feels cheap on, the lid doesn’t fit well, it highlights any bumps or dryness on your lips and comes off very easily. It doesn’t stain when you take it off though, which is a positive spin on that?!


Rimmel (1).jpg

  • Brand Name:ย Rimmel
  • Colour:ย Wine
  • Cost: ยฃ5.49 at Superdrug
  • Get it here
  • Score:ย 7/10

This lipstick smells lovely! Definitely a unique factor with this one and I absolutely LOVE this colour. It also feels quite light on your lips so you wouldn’t really notice it’s there. However, I think you need a couple of coats to see the true colour so you use quite a lot in one go. If you make a mistake too, you’ll know about it. When I took it off, I thought it stained quite a lot too which you could see as strong staying power but I’m not a fan of this particularly. Good for the price though!


topshop

  • Brand Name:ย Topshop
  • Colour:ย The Damned
  • Cost: ยฃ8.00 at Topshop
  • Shop the range here:ย (this tested colour is unfortunately no longer available)
  • Score:ย 5/10

Love the packaging, I think this looks great. There’s a huge choice of colours in this range and this lipstick also smells nice to me too which is always a bonus! However, you need a few layers to see the true colour and without this it could look patchy. It’s quite smooth to apply but it does come off very easily. Could be improved, I feel.


no7-1

  • Brand Name:ย No7
  • Colour:ย Pink Hint
  • Cost: ยฃ9.95 at Boots
  • Get it here
  • Score:ย 6/10

For the price, this feels very high quality and luxurious. It’s not at all sticky, locks into your lips quickly and you don’t need a lot to see the true colour. The only thing I would say though is that any mistakes you make will really be highlighted. I went over onto my skin in the corners and getting it off/reapplying again could have been easier without tell-tale signs.


younique-1

  • Brand Name:ย Younique
  • Colour:ย Loaded
  • Cost: ยฃ15.00 at Younique’s online shop
  • Get it here
  • Score:ย 8/10

LOVE this packaging, it looks like such an expensive and luxurious product! The lid is held very securely in place too. I also didn’t use a lot to see the true colour, easy to apply and the colour is amazing! However, this product feels slightly sticky once applied, is very shiny (some might not mind this) and also has the heaviest feel out of the 6 tested (again, not necessarily a huge negative).


bobbi-brown

  • Brand Name:ย Bobbi Brown
  • Colour: Tulip
  • Cost: ยฃ21.00 atย Bobbi Brown
  • Get it here
  • Score:ย 9/10

I think you get what you pay for with this, it is expensive but in my opinion this is the best lipstick I have tested today. It’s very easy to apply, the colour is true to how it looks, has strong staying power and has classically gorgeous packaging to match. The only slightly negative things I can say is that it felt slightly heavy in the corners of my lips and is probably the worst smelling out of them all. I could only smell this in the tube though and not once applied.


… and we’re done! ๐Ÿ’‹ Here’s a summary of the results:

๐Ÿ’‹ 1st = Bobbi Brown

๐Ÿ’‹ 2nd = Younique

๐Ÿ’‹3rd = Rimmel

๐Ÿ’‹4th = No7

๐Ÿ’‹5th = Topshop

๐Ÿ’‹6th = Calvin Klein


 

Do you agree with the results? Are you surprised by any? Which lipstick is your ultimate fave in your make-up bag?

When applying these products, I used a Helen E lip liner with them which you can view in further detail here!

Comment below and let me know your thoughts ๐Ÿ™‚ Until next time! Much love,

Hayleyย ๐Ÿ’œ

 

Leave a Reply

