Bath & Beauty · beauty · inspiration · Topics of Interest · Uncategorized · Well Being

Cruelty Free Beauty 🐰

animal-testing-1By Jessy 

Hey Stylists!

The world of make up is a wonderful place; it brings empowerment to so many of us, gives us a confidence boost and allows us to show the world who we are! There’s so many brands I love, yet they’re not guilt free, as most our favourites have been tested on animals and with that is a sad tale of neglect and abuse… I admit to knowingly purchasing from brands that I know test on animals for my own selfish gain of having the new must-have, but for 2017 I want to be more mindful towards the sacrifice of our furry friends and look for more cruelty-free brands so that I can still get the look I want without the guilty conscience!

Here is a really useful list of cruelty free brands to try:  – You may be surprised to learn that a lot of your favourites haven’t made the cut!

There’s different levels of how strict you can be with this. Some brands are 100% cruelty free, but others are owned by companies which test on animals even when the brand itself doesn’t…so essentially by buying products from them, you are also funding the animal testing done by sister brands. Examples of this would be: Nars (owned by Shisedo), NYX and Urban Decay (owned by L’Oreal)
.
Check out this useful website that offers a list of the brands which currently test on animals.

Here’s my pick of the best cruelty free beauty (IMO)…


Body

Original Source make amazingly fragrant shower gels which are cruelty-free AND vegan and perfect for anyone on a budget! With scents including Banana and Bamboo Milk to more uplifting aromas like Mint and Tea Tree (£2.29), there is something to please every nose! Try them heremolton-brown-rhubarb-rose-hand-wash_kbt570_xl

If you want to make an impression, Molten Brown Hand Wash (£18) and Hand Lotion (£20) are the way to go. Personally, I have a soft spot for the Rhubarb and Rose collection, which is also perfect for an upgraded shower gel if luxury is more your forte! Buy them here


Face


I’m one of those people who hates repurchasing the same old make up when it runs out, but bareMinerals bareSkin Pure Brightening Serum (£27) is the exception. It’s friendlier to my dry skin than the original powder formula, and when applied with the Perfecting Face Brush it gives me a glowing, even complexion that lasts all day and masks a multitude of sins! Get yours here


Eyes

Charlotte Tilbury was catapulted into cosmetic royalty when she launched her now cult range of products 3 years ago. The products are high end prices but they are worth the investment for the outstanding quality of this cove-table range. I got my first product as a Christmas present and it has exemplified my desire to get more ASAP and the knowledge that it’s cruelty-free makes it even sweeter!

I can’t tell you enough how great Eyes to Mesmerise Long-Lasting Easy Colour in Jean (£22) is! I apply it with my finger and it stays on all day, has a lovely golden glow and is very pigmented; a perfect base for nights out! Check it out here

2017-01-13

For eyeliner, I’m pining after one of Marc Jacobs Highliner Gel Eye Crayons (£19) after admiring the crazy array of colours available. Similar to the intensity of Urban Decay’s eyeliners, this 100% cruelty-free option has a colour to suit every mood, I’m in love with the (Teal Green shade) Odysea Pencil – it even includes a built in pencil sharpener! Buy it here


Cheeks
uk200015116_hourglass


For a blusher or bronzer, the new Instagram favourite seems to be Hourglass’ Ambient Lighting Blush (£32) in it’s extremely aesthetically pleasing packaging, this brand is going places! Unfortunately I haven’t been able to try it yet, but the critics can’t get enough of this brand! Check it out here


Nailsgelly.jpg

The pocket-money go to Barry M is cruelty-free! Which means you can decorate your talons with their rainbow of Nail Paints without a hint of guilt, their Gelly Hi-Shine range is as close as you can get to a professional manicure for £3.99View the range here


Lipskatvond_2015liquidlipstick001

We all know that liquid lipsticks are here to stay, and Kat Von D’s selection (£16) is amazing. I have Lolita and it’s my go to shade for day time wear as it has a surprisingly good staying power for a nude and dries deliciously matte. I am desperate for more lipsticks! Join my obsession here


Hair

It’s impossible to compile an anti-animal testing list without mentioning Lush, and their range of hair products is second to none! They have helped me with any hair dilemma, from dry, frizzy ends to giving my hair a dazzling shine, there is a product to suit everyone, all with a gorgeous, naturally sourced scent! My personal favourites are: Honey I Washed My Hair Shampoo Bar and American Cream Conditioner because I have thick hair that needs a lot of nourishment. Have a look on their website to see what best suits your hair type! Enter the world that is Lush here!


So I hope my handy guide to all things cruelty-free has inspired you to be more conscious when making your beauty purchases.

Together we can help bring down this unnecessary routine of animal testing!

I know I’m going to try to actively shop for more of the brands I have mentioned, so I would love to know about any products you’ve tried and loved!?

Let’s start the discussion stylists – what do you think about the use of Animal Testing in 2017?

Jessy 🌸
Leave a Reply

